Transferring Firearms Among Some Family Members
Family gun transfers in California (parent/child, grandparent/grandchild)
California allows Non-FFL transfers among certain family members within California.
In all cases the law specifies the receiver must not be prohibited from owning guns.
The applicable Penal Code is 12072(d) and 12078(c)
12072 (d) Where neither party to the transaction holds a dealer's license issued pursuant to Section 12071, the parties to the transaction shall complete the sale, loan, or transfer of that firearm through a licensed firearms dealer pursuant to Section 12082.
12078 (c) (1) Subdivision (d) of Section 12072 shall not apply to the infrequent transfer of a firearm that is not a handgun by gift, bequest, intestate succession, or other means by one individual to another if both individuals are members of the same immediate family.
(2) Subdivision (d) of Section 12072 shall not apply to the infrequent transfer of a handgun by gift, bequest, intestate succession, or other means by one individual to another if both individuals are members of the same immediate family and all of the following conditions are met: (A) The person to whom the firearm is transferred shall, within 30 days of taking possession of the firearm, forward by prepaid mail or deliver in person to the Department of Justice, a report that includes information concerning the individual taking possession of the firearm, how title was obtained and from whom, and a description of the firearm in question. The report forms that individuals complete pursuant to this paragraph shall be provided to them by the Department of Justice. (B) The person taking title to the firearm shall first obtain a handgun safety certificate. (C) The person receiving the firearm is 18 years of age or older.
(3) As used in this subdivision, "immediate family member" means any one of the following relationships: (A) Parent and child. (B) Grandparent and grandchild.
Parent/Child, Grandparent/grandchild only
Note the text in (3). It really means ONLY those relationships, in either direction. Your brother, uncle, or cousin are NOT included. However, in a slightly different operation, husbands and wives can give guns to each other, in an 'operation of law' called conversion.
Long guns need no paper
12078(c)(1) means long guns are paperless. There is no fee, there is no notification, and there is no age limit.
Hand guns need paper and fee
12078(c)(2) means handguns require paper and a fee - this form, of Law or Intrafamilial Handgun Transaction Report, and $19 for all the handguns you care to transfer.
Handgun transfer to 18-21 is OK
12078(c)(2) also means parents or grandparents can transfer handguns to children or grandchildren 18 or older. Since it's illegal for dealers to transfer handguns to people under 21, this is the way people 18, 19 and 20 can legally receive handguns. (Penal Code 12026 is quite clear that those 18 and over can "own, possess, [and] keep ..." a pistol or revolver.)
HSC is required
The Handgun Safety Certificate is required for handgun transfers, even though the Transaction Report has no place to record the HSC number or other verification that the receiver has the HSC.
These transfers exempt from the Roster
An additional part of the Penal Code, 12132
12132. This chapter shall not apply to any of the following: (b) The sale, loan, or transfer of any firearm that is exempt from the provisions of subdivision (d) of Section 12072 pursuant to any applicable exemption contained in Section 12078, if the sale, loan, or transfer complies with the requirements of that applicable exemption to subdivision (d) of Section 12072.
says that intrafamilial handgun transfers are NOT subject to the Roster of Handguns.
INTERSTATE transfers are generally NOT FFL-free, because Federal law says so.
"Infrequent" means "five or fewer times per year".(PC 12070 (c)(1) )