Time Line of California Firearms Laws
- 1 Time Line of California Firearms Laws
- 1.1 Dangerous Weapons Control Act
- 1.2 Dealer's Record of Sale (DROS), 1924
- 1.3 Concealed weapons illegal without permit, 1924 and later
- 1.4 Loaded guns in public banned - Mulford Act, 1967
- 1.5 State pre-emption of the field of licensing and registration for guns, 1969
- 1.6 Firearms purchase waiting periods
- 1.7 First round of 'Assault Weapons' laws (by name): Roberti-Roos, 1990
- 1.8 Required Sales Through Dealers, 1991
- 1.9 Intra-family transfers, 1992?
- 1.10 Basic Firearms Safety Certificate, 1994
- 1.11 California Gun Free School Zones, 1994
- 1.12 License not required to own, 1996
- 1.13 Armor piercing handgun ammunition banned, 1996
- 1.14 Personal Handgun Importer 1998
- 1.15 Second round of 'Assault Weapons' laws (by feature): SB23, 2000
- 1.16 1 Handgun in 30 days 2000
- 1.17 Roster of Handguns (Safe Gun list), 2001
- 1.18 Handgun Safety Certificate, 2003
- 1.19 Open Carry of Unloaded Handguns Banned, 2011
- 1.20 Long Gun Registration, effective 2014
- 1.21 Open Carry of Unloaded Long Guns Banned, effective 2013
- 1.22 Firearms Safety Certificate, effective 2015
Time Line of California Firearms Laws
See also the section on Important Cases for legal actions regarding firearms.
Dangerous Weapons Control Act
Dangerous Weapons' Control Act, originally enacted in 1917. (Stats. 1917, ch. 145, § 3, p. 221) including the provisions formerly numbered 12025 etc.
Dealer's Record of Sale (DROS), 1924
DROS was implemented by AB 263-Hawes, introduced in 1923 and effective August 7, 1924. Licensed dealers were, and are, required to report handgun sales to the state.
Electronic versions of DROS were specified in AB 671 (Peace) in 1997. (link below)
See also Firearms registration.
Concealed weapons illegal without permit, 1924 and later
While there had been some earlier restrictions, that same Hawes bill replaced the prior carry license law. Current prohibitions are enacted in Penal Code 25400.
Loaded guns in public banned - Mulford Act, 1967
A frightened California legislature passed the Mulford Act (AB 1591) which gave us 12031.
State pre-emption of the field of licensing and registration for guns, 1969
In Galvan v. Superior Court (1969) 70 Cal.2d 851 ... our Supreme Court was called upon to determine whether a San Francisco ordinance providing for the registration of firearms was unlawful because it was in conflict with or impliedly preempted by the state laws concerning weapons. The court held that the ordinance was valid because the state Legislature had not evinced the intent to preempt the field of gun registration and the ordinance did not provide for a "license" or "permit" in violation of Penal Code, section 12026. Following the Galvan decision, the Legislature in 1969 enacted Government Code, section 9619, which effectively eliminated any doubt as to the legislative intent to occupy the entire field of registration and licensing of firearms.
Firearms purchase waiting periods
Actually beginning with one day for handguns in 1923, the California Legislature increased the handgun waiting period from one to three days in 1955, to five days in 1965, and to 15 days in 1975. (See a critical article on waiting periods by Clayton Cramer.) The current wait is 10 days from AB 671, effective April 1, 1997.
First round of 'Assault Weapons' laws (by name): Roberti-Roos, 1990
Required Sales Through Dealers, 1991
Prior to 1991, firearms sales could be private; after 1991, Penal Code 12070 required substantially all sales to use a California-licensed FFL dealer.
Intra-family transfers, 1992?
Some family members were exempted from the use-a-dealer requirement by Penal Code 12078, added to the Penal Code by some currently unknown bill, prior to January 1993. AB166, introduced in January 1993, includes the family transfer language as existing code. See also Transferring Firearms Among Some Family Members.
Basic Firearms Safety Certificate, 1994
Now superseded, this was a lifetime certificate needed for handgun purchase, until 2003. See also The Handgun Safety Certificate.
California Gun Free School Zones, 1994
License not required to own, 1996
AB 92 amended Penal Code 12026 to include the (b) language prohibiting a license to own firearms and added more 12026.2 exceptions to handgun concealed carry violations if carried unloaded and in a locked case between some destinations.
Armor piercing handgun ammunition banned, 1996
Personal Handgun Importer 1998
AB 991 Shelley and Perata, 1997, created the requirement that persons moving to California must register their handguns. Expanded effective 2014 to include long guns.
Second round of 'Assault Weapons' laws (by feature): SB23, 2000
1999's other major change, SB23, gave us the 'by feature' 'assault weapons' laws.
The same bill also gave us the 'large-capacity magazine' restrictions.
1 Handgun in 30 days 2000
1999's AB 202, Chaptered in July of 1999, added Penal Code 12072 (a)(9):
(9) (A) No person shall make an application to purchase more than one pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person within any 30-day period.
Since it was not an 'urgency' bill, and had no other language specifying an effective date, it took effect on January 1, 2000.
Roster of Handguns (Safe Gun list), 2001
Handgun Safety Certificate, 2003
This replacement for the Basic Firearms Safety Certificate has different exemption rules than the older document, and this one expires. See also The Handgun Safety Certificate
This was added to the Penal Code by SB 52 in 2001; it also included the requirement to prove California residency for handgun purchases.
SB52 also introduced the requirement that DROS should be reported only electronically, beginning Jan 1, 2003.
Open Carry of Unloaded Handguns Banned, 2011
2011's AB 144 made it illegal to carry unloaded handguns openly; the Mulford Act (see above) ban applied to all loaded firearms.
Long Gun Registration, effective 2014
2011's AB 809 introduced long gun registration via DROS and self-reporting for new residents and Curio and Relic license holders. The bill has an effective date of January 1, 2014.
Open Carry of Unloaded Long Guns Banned, effective 2013
2012's AB 1527 provides generally that unloaded long guns, outside a vehicle, must be enclosed in a case.
Firearms Safety Certificate, effective 2015
The test and certificate requirement for handguns was expanded to include long guns, and the newly created Firearms Safety Certificate is required for long gun purchases beginning 2015. A valid Handgun Safety Certificate is usable for handgun purchases until it expires.