Felons and firearms and ammunition
From Calguns Foundation Wiki
Felons and Firearms and Ammunition
California law prohibits felons from owning or even holding any firearm or ammunition.
(a) (1) Any person who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or of an offense enumerated in subdivision (a), (b), or (d) of Section 23515, or who is addicted to the use of any narcotic drug, and who owns, purchases, receives, or has in possession or under custody or control any firearm is guilty of a felony.
See the definition of "firearm".
Illegal to provide firearm to prohibited person
(a) No person, corporation, or firm shall knowingly sell, supply, deliver, or give possession or control of a firearm to any person within any of the classes prohibited by Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 29800) or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 29900) of Division 9. (b) No person, corporation, or dealer shall sell, supply, deliver, or give possession or control of a firearm to anyone whom the person, corporation, or dealer has cause to believe is within any of the classes prohibited by Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 29800) or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 29900) of Division 9 of this title, or Section 8100 or 8103 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.
Punishment for providing firearm to prohibited person
(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), (c), or (e), a violation of this article is a misdemeanor. (b) If any of the following circumstances apply, a violation of this article is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for two, three, or four years. (1) If the violation is of subdivision (a) of Section 27500.
(a) (1) No person prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 29800) or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 29900) of Division 9 of this title, or Section 8100 or 8103 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, shall own, possess, or have under custody or control, any ammunition or reloaded ammunition. (2) A violation of this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year or in the state prison, by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(a) As used in Section 30300, "ammunition" means handgun ammunition as defined in Section 16650. (b) As used in subdivision (a) of Section 30305 and in Section 30306, "ammunition" includes, but is not limited to, any bullet, cartridge, magazine, clip, speed loader, autoloader, or projectile capable of being fired from a firearm with a deadly consequence. "Ammunition" does not include blanks.
Illegal to provide ammunition to prohibited person
(a) Any person, corporation, or firm who supplies, delivers, sells, or gives possession or control of, any ammunition to any person who he or she knows or using reasonable care should know is prohibited from owning, possessing, or having under custody or control, any ammunition or reloaded ammunition pursuant to subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 30305, is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.
Living with a prohibited person
There are rules: Penal Code 25135
25135. (a) A person who is 18 years of age or older, and who is the owner, lessee, renter, or other legal occupant of a residence, who owns a firearm and who knows or has reason to know that another person also residing therein is prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm shall not keep in that residence any firearm that he or she owns unless one of the following applies: (1) The firearm is maintained within a locked container. (2) The firearm is disabled by a firearm safety device. (3) The firearm is maintained within a locked gun safe. (4) The firearm is maintained within a locked trunk. (5) The firearm is locked with a locking device as described in Section 16860, which has rendered the firearm inoperable. (6) The firearm is carried on the person or within close enough proximity thereto that the individual can readily retrieve and use the firearm as if carried on the person. (b) A violation of this section is a misdemeanor. (c) The provisions of this section are cumulative, and do not restrict the application of any other law. However, an act or omission punishable in different ways by different provisions of law shall not be punished under more than one provision.